Saturday, December 27, 2008
Christmas not so Christmas afterall..
Yes, let me tell u a secret...tomorrow is my off day!!!!!!!
Sunday, December 21, 2008
Long long day at work..
Ok, this is the killer period. Crowds kept streaming in and the queue was long that customers lined up to the end of the cafe. Everyone, the supervisors and manager were rushing like mad to clear tables once the previous customers had left and we had to keep serving the dishes. Things were just slightly better at 11pm and at 1.30am more than half of the cafe was still occupied! Aaah! At the end of the day, i heard the net earnings of the cafe was 10,000 bucks. I think we should be rewarded for our work lah.
The possibility of doing part-time in january is becoming increasingly imminent...
Sunday, December 14, 2008
One more night shift to go...
After the first night, my fatigue level was manageable. I had slept about 6 hours and woke up at 8.45am before going swimming with hw at Mount Faber Safra. But on the second night, the fatigue level kicked in. Upon reaching home, i simply laid flat on my bed and the next timing i woke up, it was already 12.30pm O_O This is utter madness! Right now i am already considering working part time from January onwards. I will have to see how things go from now on..
Tuesday, December 9, 2008
SHAG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Today i was taught the respective table numbers and also serving of dishes to the customers. On gauging my work performance today, as a first timer it's not bad already lah. 万事起头难嘛。。 I think i deserve every single cent of my pay man. Lunch and PARTICULARLY dinner time were plain crazy. I had to keep serving my customers during the busy period without any break. Sometimes i had to carry 2 dishes on one tray on my left hand and one big bowl on my right hand. Not easy i must say. I have understood the difficulty of working in the F&B industry. One must please the customer and at the same time not put a foot wrong. I really salute those who has worked before in this field! In the afternoon, the 老总(big boss) of Xin Wang came to our outlet and had a thorough inspection of the place. I heard from my manager that he was the one who accepted my email job application and gave me the job. One of my fellow colleagues even joked that he came down to see me -_-!!! Especially since he has not come down to this outlet for a long while. Everyone single person from the manger to the supervisor to the chef and service staff were so tense up and had to put up a 'good show' for him to see. Hahaha..i also tried hard to find things to do like arranging the chairs and menus. From what i know, he was very stringent and serious with the quality of service and food served. Maybe that is why this particular Xin Wang outlet is one of the busiest around.
My manager has been a great help in making me adapt to the working environment and has also been constantly asking me whether i was able to cope. Not forgetting my supervisors who at first i thought they were 'bo chap' about the service staff. As the day went by, they were able to teach me the proper way of serving dishes. I must say my fellow service staff colleagues are quite friendly and offered their help whenever they could:)
I have brought home the menu of Xin Wang and i am expected to memorise the number codes respective to the dishes. I hope i can master them in soon in due time. I know it's not gonna be easy but i am gonna persevere on:D
Sunday, December 7, 2008
I like my Adidas F5 boots!!
Ok, now let me continue with my shopping trip with kok. Initially, i had wanted to get a pair of synthetic leather shoes for myself at Queensway. Then that stupid kok in the end made me bought a pair of soccer boots instead! He was getting new boots to replace the spoilt one. Talking about the soccer boots, it's actually cost me $55 after 15% discount. Below is the picture of my beloved shoes, the Adidas F5.

This picture is actually taken from google image, not from my camera...
Personally i quite like the feel to the shoes especially the sole. Soles that are too hard are gonna make you hurt. The hardness of my boots is just ok. After a run out at the clementi soccer court today, i must say i am very pleased with my performance. Partly must be due to my new soccer boots. The passing of ball is more crisp, shooting more accurate and my ball control is an improvement. I feel i had more confidence on the ball:) This is somewhat in contrast when i only had my new balance running shoes to contend with. What made me wanted to get a my maiden soccer boots is that playing with running shoes in the long run is gonna hurt my knees in the later years. Ever since i have been so involved in soccer from my secondary school days, i think it is time i own a pair of soccer boots.
Today is probably going to be my 'testimonial(last) match'. I am going to start working on Tuesday, six days a week with normally weekends burnt:/ At least i manage to find something meaningful to do instead of just passing each day aimlessly, staring at computers. I have gotten quite sick of it already. Hahaha... I look forward to learning new skills and making new friends at work. Hopefully it will be an enriching experience for a first timer like me:) 加油!!!